Skip to main content

Reading Resources

2021-22 Texas Bluebonnet Book Nominees 

Books selected by librarians across the state of Texas for 3rd-6th grade students.  Students that read at least 5 of these books by January are eligible to vote in the Texas Bluebonnet Book Award Contest.



Caldecott Medal Award – Awarded annually to the artist of “the most distinguished American picture book for children.”

Newbery Medal Award – This award is given to the author of “the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.”

Theodore Seuss Geisel Award –  Awarded annually to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished American book for beginning readers published in English in the United States during the preceding year.

Pura Belpré Award – Presented annually to a Latino/Latina writer and illustrator whose work best portrays, affirms, and celebrates the Latino cultural experience in an outstanding work of literature for children and youth.

Children’s Literature Legacy Award – Honors an author or illustrator whose books, published in the United States, have made, over a period of years, a significant and lasting contribution to children’s literature through books that demonstrate integrity and respect for all children’s lives and experiences.

Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Medal – awarded annually to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished informational book published in the United States in English during the preceding year.